Title XX

What is Title XX?
Title XX of the Social Security Act provides funding to counties for local social services programs to preserve families. The funds are used to strengthen, restore, maintain or improve the participant’s ability to be self-supportive and independent. There are 31 social services available under the Title XX program.

Title XX Goals
Federal Legislation has established five national goals which are stated in broad general terms. The purpose of the Comprehensive Social Service plan is to provide social services directed at one or more of the following goals:

1. Self-support – Achieving or maintaining economic self-support to prevent, reduce, or eliminate dependency.

2. Self-sufficiency – Achieving or maintaining self-sufficiency including reduction or prevention or dependency.

3. A) Preventing neglect, abuse or exploitation – Preventing or remedying neglect, abuse or exploitation of children or adults unable to protect their own interests. B) Preserving families – Preserving, rehabilitating, or reuniting families.

4. Community based care – Preventing or reducing inappropriate institutional; care by providing community based care, home based care, or other forms of less intensive care.

5. Institutional Care – Securing referral or admission for institutional care when other forms of care are not appropriate, or providing services to individuals in institutions.

ACDJFS Provides Title XX Funding For The Following Programs:
• Adult Protective Services
• Guardianship
• Home Delivered Meals
• Home Health Aides
• Information and Referral Services
• Legal Services
• Nursing Assessments
• Residential Treatment Services
• Transportation Services

For more information regarding the above mentioned programs, please call 440-994-2027 or local residents may dial 211 for information and referral.